Groshi
buy now pay laterklarnaafterpayaffirmbnplfinancing

Klarna vs Afterpay vs Affirm: Which BNPL App Is Best?

Groshi is reader-supported: if you buy through links on this page, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. How we review.

This article is for informational purposes only and is not financial, tax or legal advice. Rates, fees and terms change often — always confirm details with the provider.

When you reach the online checkout, the option to “pay later” has become almost as common as entering a credit card number. The leading US providers—Klarna, Afterpay, and Affirm—have similar “Pay in 4” plans at their core, but they diverge significantly in strategy, fees, and ideal use cases. According to pymnts.com, these three, along with PayPal, dominate the market, each attracting a different customer base with unique product boundaries. Choosing the best app isn’t about finding a single winner; it’s about matching the right tool to your specific purchase and financial habits.

How Do They Compare? A Side-by-Side Look

The most common way to use these services is the “Pay in 4” plan: splitting a purchase into four equal, interest-free payments every two weeks. However, when you look beyond this basic structure, key differences in fees, credit checks, and reporting emerge.

FeatureKlarnaAfterpayAffirm
Primary PlansPay in 4, Pay in 30 days, Monthly FinancingPay in 4, Pay Monthly (3-24 months)Pay in 4, Monthly Plans (3-36 months, up to 60 months for some purchases)
Interest on Pay in 40%0%0%
Late Fees (Pay in 4)Yes, after a grace period$10 initially, plus $7 after 7 days (capped at 25% of order)None
Credit Check (Pay in 4)Soft checkSoft checkSoft or hard check, depending on the plan
Credit ReportingPay in 4/Pay in 30 generally not reported; financing plans are reportedPay in 4 generally not reported; Pay Monthly is reportedAll loans are reported to credit bureaus

Source: Data synthesized from pabau.com, investormint.com, and fintechessential.com.

This table highlights that while the upfront cost (0% interest) is consistent, the consequences of a missed payment and the impact on your credit history vary dramatically.

Klarna: Maximum Flexibility and Reach

Klarna stands out for its variety of payment options and extensive merchant network. It offers three main ways to pay, giving you more control at checkout.

A key advantage is Klarna’s virtual card. This single-use card works anywhere Visa is accepted, effectively allowing you to use Klarna at millions of merchants globally, even those that haven’t officially integrated the service pabau.com. However, Klarna does charge late fees on its Pay in 4 plan if you miss a payment, which is a consideration for those who want to avoid any potential charges.

Afterpay: Simplicity for Smaller, Everyday Purchases

Afterpay is built around a straightforward Pay in 4 model. It’s known for its strong presence in fashion, beauty, and lifestyle stores, with acceptance at tens of thousands of retailers pabau.com. Its appeal is simplicity: you know exactly what you’re getting with no surprises on interest for short-term plans.

The most significant drawback is its late fee structure. If you miss a payment, Afterpay charges an initial $10 fee, followed by an additional $7 if the payment remains unpaid after seven days. These fees are capped at 25% of the total order value, but they can add up quickly investormint.com. For shoppers who prioritize keeping their short-term borrowing off their credit report, Afterpay’s standard Pay in 4 activity is generally not reported to the major credit bureaus investormint.com.

Affirm: Transparent Financing for Larger Purchases

Affirm takes a more credit-focused approach. While it offers a Pay in 4 plan, its strength lies in longer-term monthly financing for bigger-ticket items like electronics, furniture, or travel. Affirm sets a higher bar for transparency: before you confirm any purchase, the app shows the total cost, any interest, the monthly payment amount, and the payoff date with no hidden fees fintechessential.com.

Affirm’s Pay in 4 plan has a relatively low ceiling, typically capping purchases between $50 and $249.99, but its monthly plans can finance amounts up to $20,000 over terms as long as 48 months, with APRs ranging from 0% to 36% pymnts.com. A critical differentiator is that Affirm charges no late fees. Instead, it reports all of its US pay-over-time loans and payment activity to credit bureaus Experian and TransUnion investormint.com. This means on-time payments can help build credit, but missed payments can negatively impact your credit score.

Which Buy Now, Pay Later App Is Right for You?

The best choice depends entirely on your spending goals and financial discipline.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does using Affirm, Klarna, or Afterpay affect my credit score? This varies significantly. Affirm reports all its loans to credit bureaus, so your payment history (both positive and negative) will impact your score. Klarna generally does not report its Pay in 4 or Pay in 30 plans, but its longer-term financing products are reported. Afterpay typically does not report its standard Pay in 4 activity, but its Pay Monthly loans can involve credit reporting investormint.com.

What happens if I miss a payment? The consequences differ. Affirm charges no late fees, but missed payments are reported to credit bureaus, which can harm your credit score. Afterpay has a structured late fee system: an initial $10 fee, plus a $7 fee after a week, capped at 25% of the order. Klarna also charges late fees on its Pay in 4 plan, though specific amounts can vary investormint.com.

Can I use these apps in physical stores? Yes, all three have in-store options. Klarna’s virtual card can be used anywhere Visa is accepted. Afterpay and Affirm offer digital cards or QR codes for use at participating retail partners. Always check the respective app for in-store payment instructions.